Committee Members

//Committee Members
Committee Members2018-12-14T20:40:39+00:00

2018 – 2019 ALABCA Statewide Committee Members

Mission of District Committee Members:

To assist the ALABCA in achieving their mission of Honoring, Educating and Promoting the state’s amateur baseball players & coaches. To help grow the ALABCA by urging the coaches to attend the January Coaches Convention or at least join the association if they don’t attend the convention, and urging the coaches to send their players to the May Underclassmen Regional workouts. The District Committee members will also pole their area coaches to see what baseball topic’s they want addressed by the AHSAA.

Committee Member Responsibilities:

  1. Urge Coaches to join the ALABCA, and attend the January 17 – 19, 2019 24th Annual Coaches Convention.
  2. Remind area coaches about the May & September High School Players Showcases, May/June Underclassmen Workouts, June All-Star & Team Alabama Events.
  3. Maintain an updated contact list of the High School and Middle School Baseball Coaches in their district.
  4. When needed, organize and host a Fall ALABCA District Coaches Meeting. Barry Dean will attend and discuss upcoming AHSAA Baseball Legislative
    proposals the ALABCA will support, and urge the AHSAA to pass.
  5. Attend two committee meetings throughout the year:
    • September 29, 2018, Birmingham Marriott, 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
    • Thursday, January 17, 2019, 12:00 – 3:00 p.m. at the Convention at the Birmingham Marriott

Johnny Johnson, James Clemens High School (7A) – ALABCA Board Member / Committee Chairman
jtjohnson@madisoncity.k12.al.us / johnsonj42@hotmail.com / (256) 997-6190

* Select one Coach per district, then allow him to select his assistant(s) in his district

ALABCA Committee Membership Chairman –
Tyler Dent, Andalusia High School (4A), August 2017 – 2020
dentt@andalusia.k12.al.us/ (706)575-8986

District 1: Talley Haines, Mobile Christian School (4A), August 2016 – 2019
talley_haines@mobilechristian.org / (251)442-5052

District 2: Matt Whitton, Charles Henderson High School (5A), December 2018 – August 2021
whittonm@troyschools.net / (334)389-1957

District 3: Craig McDaniel, Sweet Water High School (1A), August 2018 – 2021
craigmcdaniel@marengo.k12.al.us / (334) 391-0862

District 4: Michael Dismukes, Wetumpka High School (6A), August 2016 – 2019
michael.dismukes@elmoreco.com / (334)850-5667

District 5: Patrick Ware, Walker High School (5A), August 2017 – 2020
pware@jasper.k12.al.us / (205)300-3079

Tyrus Moss, A.H. Parker High School (5A), August 2016 – 2019
tmoss@bhm.k12.al.us / (205)332-7375

District 6: Wes Henderson, White Plains High School (4A), August 2017 – 2020
rhenders.wp@ccboe.us / (256)239-3441

District 7: Chris Heaps, Russellville High School (5A), August 2018 – 2021
chris.heaps@rcs.k12.al.us / (256)345-0531

District 8: Brandon Moore, Oneonta High School (4A), August 2017 – 2020
bmoore@oneonta.k12.al.us / (205)276-7108

Minority Rep: Lavert Andrews, Ramsay High School (6A), August 2017 – 2020
landrews@bhm.k12.al.us / (205)515-1193

Community College: Brandon Ware, Lurleen B. Wallace Community College, 2016 – 2019
bware@lbwcc.edu / (850)712-2110

4-year (Small) College: Hunter Royer, University of Alabama at Huntsville (Division II), August 2016 – 2019
rlh0003@uah.edu / (256) 479-8859

4-year (Large) College: Butch Thompson, Auburn University, August 2016 – 2019
thompgb@auburn.edu / (334)750-6133

Professional Scout: Danny Watkins, Boston Red Sox, August 2016 – 2019
dwatkins@redsox.com / (617)549-4527

Summer League Rep: Eric Dubose, East Coast Baseball, August 2016 – 2019
edubose@eastcoastbaseball.org / (205)391-8070

Legislative Chair: Richy Brooks, Benjamin Russell High School  (6A), August 2016 – 2019
richybrooks@bellsouth.net / (256)749-8488

Committee Secretary: Kelsey Cross, West Blocton High School (4A), August 2018 – 2021
crossk@bibbed.org / (205)310-4175

X