Alabama Baseball Coaches Association 2019 Award Winners To be honored Friday, January 17, 2020 – 7:00 p.m. ALABCA 25th Annual Coaches Convention 19th Annual Awards Banquet Birmingham Marriott Hotel.

Hall of Fame Class of 2020
Four Honorees
To be announced in early October

2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipient
Honoree to be announced in early October

ALABCA High School Honorees
Sammy Dunn Memorial Award
To be announced in early October

AHSAA Coaches of the Year (State Champions)

  • 1A – Jay Mitchell, Mars Hill Bible School
  • 2A – Drew Miller, G.W. Long High School
  • 3A – Casey Smith, Providence Christian School
  • 4A – Jacob Fowler, Brooks High School
  • 5A – Jonathan Ford, Springville High School
  • 6A – Brent Patterson, Cullman High School
  • 7A – Tim Becker, McGill-Toolen High School

AHSAA Assistant Coach of the Year
Steven Darwin, Brooks High School

AHSAA Player of the Year
Ethan Hearn, Mobile Christian School

AHSAA Pitcher of the Year
Justin Perreault, Homewood High School

AHSAA Duel Player of the Year
Chandler Best, McGill-Toolen High School

AISA Coaches of the Year (State Champions)

  • 1A – Jackson Academy, J.D. Phillips
  • 2A – Lakeside, Scottie Ates
  • 3A – Pike Liberal Arts School, Allen Ponder

AISA Assistant Coach of the Year
Ross Hixon, Pike Liberal Arts School

AISA Player of the Year
Gunner Henderson, Morgan Academy

AISA Pitcher of the Year
Devin Pitre, Jackson Academy

AISA Duel Player of the Year
Taylor Gover, Lakeside Academy

College Honorees
Community College Division

Coach of the Year
Hunter Vick, Chattahoochee Valley Community College

Assistant Coach of the Year
Trent Higginbothem, Coastal Alabama-North Community College

Player of the Year
Easton Kirk, Wallace State-Hanceville Community College

Pitcher of the Year
Jackson Reynolds, Shelton State Community College

Small College Division – Division II, III & NAIA

Coach of the Year
Jan Weisberg, Birmingham Southern College

Assistant Coach of the Year
J.D. Hulse, Birmingham Southern College

Player of the Year
Max Guzman, Faulkner University

Pitcher of the Year
Richie Misischia, Birmingham Southern College

Large College Division – Division I

Coach of the Year
Butch Thompson, Auburn University

Assistant Coach of the Year
Evan Bush, Jacksonville State University

Player of the Year
Ethan Wilson, University of South Alabama

Pitcher of the Year
Garret Farmer, Jacksonville State University

Umpire Service Awards

  • AHSAA – Chris Pike
  • Community College – Raymond Crawford
  • Association of Collegiate Umpires – Matthew Wilbanks
  • Panhandle Conference – Kerri Day

All teams below receive a $250 Cash Award for their programs, the Team of the Year a $500 Award
Winners announced in late September

2018 – 2019 ALABCA Scholarship Recipients
* Awards to be used during the student-athletes 2020 – 2021 freshman year of college. The following are Class of 2020 graduates who attended an Underclassman Regional Workout in May of 2019 & applied for a scholarship. They’ll be honored on the field during the 10 a.m. second game of the 7A state baseball championship finals on Saturday May 23, 2020 at the Montgomery Biscuits Riverwalk Stadium

ALABCA Student-Athlete of the Year / Joe Mason Scholarship Recipient ($2,000)
Recipient Announced in mid-October

$1,500 Scholarship Recipients
All Three Announced in mid-October